09-12-2022:President Smt. Droupadi Murmu, performed the Rudrabhishek Puja at the Raj Pragyeshwar Mahadev Temple at Raj Bhavan

    • Start Date : 09/12/2022
    • End Date : 09/12/2022
    • Venue : Rajbhawan uttarakhand, Dehradun

    On the second day of her visit, President Smt. Droupadi Murmu, performed the Rudrabhishek Puja at the Raj Pragyeshwar Mahadev Temple at Raj Bhavan.

    Thereafter, President Smt Murmu inaugurated the ‘Nakshatra Vatika’, a symbol of the spiritual, natural and cultural heritage of Uttarakhand and planted sapling of Palash. Along with Governor Lt Gen Gurmit Singh (Retd) and First Lady Mrs. Gurmeet Kaur, Chief Minister Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami and Secretary to Governor Shri Ranjeet Kumar Sinha were also present.

    Since ancient times, the sky has been divided into 360 degrees and if we divide this into 27 parts, then each of its units comes at 13.33 degree (13 degree 20 minutes). Each of these units is called a Nakshatra (constellation).

    Each Nakshatra is divided equally into 4 Charanas or Padas. These Nakshatras are identified by the position and configuration of the stars in the sky. Akin to the longitude line that expresses the position of a ship moving in the sea, the position of the moving objects (planets) near the Earth is expressed by the Nakshatras.

    A unique blend of Indian spirituality, ancient knowledge and nature conservation, The ‘Nakshatra Vatika’ has the following 27 plants that coincide with their respective constellations- Kuchila, Amla, Gular, Jamun, Khair, Agar, Bamboo, Peepal, Nagkesar, Banyan, Dhak, Pakad, Chameli, Bell, Arjun, Har Shringar, Maulshri, Semal, Sal, Sita Ashek, Jackfruit, Madar, Shami, Kadamba, Neem, Mango, Mahua.

    The names of the trees related to these Nakshatras, planets and zodiac signs are found in Ayurvedic, mythological, astrological texts. It is further explained that by nurturing the tree of the birth constellation, the individual gains immense prosperity and good health. It is believed that every person should plant a flora, related to his Nakshatra and take care of it.

    Through these 27 Nakshatras, the position and movements of the nine planets and 12 zodiac signs are assessed in Indian astrology. A plant has also been identified for each planet and zodiac sign. This is the reason there are a total of 51 species of flora at the Vatika. Plants related to 9 planets, 12 zodiac signs and as a symbol of divinity, there are three plants in the names of deities Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva.

    To further this, tree plantation also provides more oxygen hence positive energy is generated by sitting near these trees. These tree species are rich in secondary metabolites called antioxidants, flavonoids, turpentine and tannins and are widely used in traditional healing systems.

    Conservation of these species in the form of a ‘Nakshatra Vatika’ at Raj Bhawan is a unique initiative to enrich biodiversity.


    View All